Hethersett Old Hall School (HOHS) blog – an independent day school near Norwich, Norfolk.

Girls 3-18 and boys 3-11, boarding for girls from 9

Young Adult Book of the Week

Leave a comment

The blog has featured  books of the week for the Easter holidays for younger readers and Years 5 and above over the past couple of days.  Today, our librarian Andrea Maher has selected All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven for older teens and young adults.

Nicknamed “Freak”,  Theodore Finch is known for being unpredictable and wacky. He is noticed for all the wrong reasons, is fascinated by death and constantly thinking of ways he might kill himself. When Finch meets Violet on the bell tower ledge, it is unclear who saves whom. But a school project draws them together, and they discover things about themselves and each other that they never knew.

This is a gripping,  intense and heart-wrenching YA (young adult) novel, perfect for fans of John Green and Gayle Foreman.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s