Hethersett Old Hall School (HOHS) blog – an independent day school near Norwich, Norfolk.

Girls 3-18 and boys 3-11, boarding for girls from 9


Leave a comment

Our ‘stars’ this week were…

Star-of-week

Our most recent ‘Stars’, receiving special mention by Mr Peace in this morning’s  Prep Department Praise Assembly, are:

Isla (Nursery), for being a kind friend. Isla is always helpful and sharing.

Reno (Reception), for hard work and listening. In particular Reno has done some fantastic writing about his holidays and excellent story-telling with expression.

Jack (Year 1), for a wonderful postcard – an excellent design and lovely handwriting.

Felicity (Year 2), for an outstanding piece of artwork for the Royal Norfolk Show competition, demonstrating an excellent use of pastels and observations.

Well done to all of these ‘stars’! The picture was taken in an earlier assembly and shows how well the children listen and like to hear about each other’s successes.

Who will it be next time?

Assembly pic



Leave a comment

Keys to a magical Prep Production

This week rehearsals start in earnest for the Prep Department’s summer production – The Keymaster by Nick Perrin. The drama focuses on four children who are expecting a very boring history lesson…but instead find themselves transported back in time on a magical journey to learn about the events of 1066, Tudor times, 18th century smugglers, the Industrial Revolution, the Suffragettes and World War 2.  Then the children visit the future….

There is plenty of hard work as well as fun in store in the weeks ahead as pupils learn lines and  songs and work together in dance to bring the story to life.

The photo below shows Year 5 and 6 pupils but all the children have at  least one part to play.  There will be two performances, on  Tuesday  27th and Thursday 29th June at 7.00pm in The Barn so, parents, make a note in your diaries!

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment

First Ballet Club of Term…

Here are our little ballerinas this afternoon enjoying the first Ballet Club session of term!
Ballet Club is free for our Lower Prep girls and boys and runs every Monday afternoon from 3.oopm-3.45pm in the Lower Prep Hall.

Pupils learn basic steps and technique and have fun acting through dance. They also learn all about professional ballet dancers and enjoy lots of dance stories too!

Please wear clothing appropriate for dance – a leotard, tights and a cardigan or leggings/shorts and a t-shirt. Ballet shoes are recommended but not essential.

Miss Doughty


Leave a comment

Welcome back to school!

Welcome back to all our pupils, boarders, parents and staff! We hope you’ve had a lovely Easter break and are now rested and raring to go..

Let the fun, games and learning begin! This is a particularly important term for our Year 11 and Year 13 girls as they approach the GCSE and A Level exams they have been working towards, with the individual support and encouragement of their teachers.


Leave a comment

What are you doing today?

We hope all our HOHS families and friends will be having fun this Bank Holiday Monday. Don’t forget to send us photos and news to marketing@hohs.co.uk for prizes at the start of term!

 

 


Leave a comment

Young Adult Book of the Week

The blog has featured  books of the week for the Easter holidays for younger readers and Years 5 and above over the past couple of days.  Today, our librarian Andrea Maher has selected All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven for older teens and young adults.

Nicknamed “Freak”,  Theodore Finch is known for being unpredictable and wacky. He is noticed for all the wrong reasons, is fascinated by death and constantly thinking of ways he might kill himself. When Finch meets Violet on the bell tower ledge, it is unclear who saves whom. But a school project draws them together, and they discover things about themselves and each other that they never knew.

This is a gripping,  intense and heart-wrenching YA (young adult) novel, perfect for fans of John Green and Gayle Foreman.

 

 


Leave a comment

Book of the Week Part 2!

Yesterday we featured our librarian’s Book of the Week choice for Years 5 and up.  Today, her suggestion is for younger children aged from three to six and is “a beautifully-illustrated, funny, quirky rhyming tale which has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2017“.

Tidy by Emily Gravett is about a badger called Pete who likes everything neat and tidy. He likes his forest tidy, but the autumn leaves take some serious tidying. So much so he wants to be rid of the messy trees…..

The moral of the story, is how over-development (tidying) has devastating effects on wildlife and the environment.