Hethersett Old Hall School (HOHS) blog – an independent day school near Norwich, Norfolk.

Girls 3-18 and boys 3-11, boarding for girls from 9


Leave a comment

First Ballet Club of Term…

Here are our little ballerinas this afternoon enjoying the first Ballet Club session of term!
Ballet Club is free for our Lower Prep girls and boys and runs every Monday afternoon from 3.oopm-3.45pm in the Lower Prep Hall.

Pupils learn basic steps and technique and have fun acting through dance. They also learn all about professional ballet dancers and enjoy lots of dance stories too!

Please wear clothing appropriate for dance – a leotard, tights and a cardigan or leggings/shorts and a t-shirt. Ballet shoes are recommended but not essential.

Miss Doughty


Leave a comment

On the menu this week

MONDAY LUNCH:
Crispy Chicken Fillets
Italian Tomato Sauce
Herb Diced Potatoes
Mixed Vegetables
Crispy Quorn Fillets
Salad Bar
Pear Halves with Chocolate Sauce
Fresh Fruit
Yogurts

TUESDAY LUNCH:
Homemade Macaroni Bolognaise
Cheese Garlic Bread
Mixed Salad
Mushroom Bolognaise
Chocolate Fudge Brownie and Cream
Yogurts
Fresh Fruit

WEDNESDAY LUNCH:
Jumbo Sausage Roll
Creamed Potatoes
Baked Beans
Cheese and Onion Roll
Salad Bar
Vanilla Rice Pudding and Raspberry Sauce
Yogurts
Fresh Fruit

THURSDAY LUNCH:
Homemade Chicken Curry and Rice
Lentil Dahl
Naan Bread
Vegetable Curry

Homemade Mixed Fruit Crumble and Custard
Yogurts
Fresh Fruit

FRIDAY LUNCH:
Battered Cod
Shoestring Fries
Peas
Macaroni Cheese Bites
Salad Bar
Mixed Fruit Yogurts
Fresh Fruit


Leave a comment

Welcome back to school!

Welcome back to all our pupils, boarders, parents and staff! We hope you’ve had a lovely Easter break and are now rested and raring to go..

Let the fun, games and learning begin! This is a particularly important term for our Year 11 and Year 13 girls as they approach the GCSE and A Level exams they have been working towards, with the individual support and encouragement of their teachers.


Leave a comment

What are you doing today?

We hope all our HOHS families and friends will be having fun this Bank Holiday Monday. Don’t forget to send us photos and news to marketing@hohs.co.uk for prizes at the start of term!

 

 


Leave a comment

Young Adult Book of the Week

The blog has featured  books of the week for the Easter holidays for younger readers and Years 5 and above over the past couple of days.  Today, our librarian Andrea Maher has selected All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven for older teens and young adults.

Nicknamed “Freak”,  Theodore Finch is known for being unpredictable and wacky. He is noticed for all the wrong reasons, is fascinated by death and constantly thinking of ways he might kill himself. When Finch meets Violet on the bell tower ledge, it is unclear who saves whom. But a school project draws them together, and they discover things about themselves and each other that they never knew.

This is a gripping,  intense and heart-wrenching YA (young adult) novel, perfect for fans of John Green and Gayle Foreman.

 

 


Leave a comment

Book of the Week Part 2!

Yesterday we featured our librarian’s Book of the Week choice for Years 5 and up.  Today, her suggestion is for younger children aged from three to six and is “a beautifully-illustrated, funny, quirky rhyming tale which has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal 2017“.

Tidy by Emily Gravett is about a badger called Pete who likes everything neat and tidy. He likes his forest tidy, but the autumn leaves take some serious tidying. So much so he wants to be rid of the messy trees…..

The moral of the story, is how over-development (tidying) has devastating effects on wildlife and the environment.

 

 


Leave a comment

Book of the Week

This week’s book of the week for the Easter holidays, selected by our Librarian Andrea Maher for Years 5 and above, is Sky Hawk by Gill Lewis.

Iona and Callum discover a rare Ospreys’ nest. They decide to keep it a secret and, with the help of the local nature warden, they follow the birds’ journey to Africa.

Mrs Maher says that this is “a captivating and beautifully written wildlife adventure book.”

A book of the week selection for younger readers is coming tomorrow!